Skip to main content

How do I setup a new User and send email with Login credentials?

Skip to main content
How can we help you today?

Our Knowledge Base contains the answers to more than 500 previously asked questions.

Create a Ticket Schedule a Training

Setting up user accounts in Contractor Foreman is an essential step to grant employees or contractors access to the platform, allowing them to manage their tasks, view project details, and collaborate with other team members.

The process of setting up a new user in Contractor Foreman is simple and can be done directly through the Directory module. When you navigate to the Directory module, you will see a list of all your current employees and contractors. If you need to create a new employee, click on the + Contact button at the top right of the page and select the contact type.

You will be prompted to enter basic information such as their name and contact details. Mind the required fields, these are marked with an asterisk.

Complete the fields as required and save the employee record.
To make your employee or contractor a user, click on that person’s name to open the profile.

Once inside the profile, you’ll see a checkbox on the top right of the page. When you click that checkbox, you’ll be prompted to select a role, give a username, and give an email address.

After you selected a role, you’ll see how much access that person gets once he logs in on the below field. But you’ll not be able to customize it there because roles need to be setup in the settings. Click here to see how to create new roles and modify existing roles.

Once you select a role, enter a username and an email address, and click save, that person will get an email to setup his password and login to the account.

If an employee leaves the company or no longer needs access to Contractor Foreman, you can easily deactivate their account by unchecking the Allow login access check box in their profile. This disables their login access without deleting their employee record, allowing you to retain any project history or data associated with their work.

Further, once you allowed login access to a person, you’ll see a field on that person’s profile called Access Details”.

Here you can setup the following;

You can set a default cost code for that person so when that person uses time cards, that cost code will be automatically selected. But if in any case that person needs to change the cost code for a time card, it is allowed.

Take User Directly to Timecard: If you turn this on, whenever that person opens Contractor Foreman, he/she will be redirected to the Time cards module. This can be useful if you have employees on the field who primarily use the time cards module. So those people don’t have to find and navigate to the time cards module on their own.

Viewable Projects: You can restrict the employee or the contractor from seeing all projects of your company when he/she logs in by only selecting the appropriate project in here. If you select any, that person will only see those projects. But if you don’t select any, the person will see all the projects of your company.

Keep in mind that depending on plan or subscription you will have a limited number of users. To learn more about this go to Contractor Foreman Plans

Was this article helpful?
2.3 out of 5 stars

2 ratings

5 Stars 0%
4 Stars 0%
3 Stars 50%
2 Stars 0%
1 Stars 50%
5
How can we improve this article?
Please submit the reason for your vote so that we can improve the article.